¿Hechos para Correr?

Statistics show that “up to 8 out of every 10 runners are hurt every year.” Are you a runner? I run for fun & fitness, but I’ve never really been able to classify myself as a runner. Sure – a run to the pyramid and back is about a 5k but much more than that seems over the top for me. I just finished an inspiring book called Born to Run by Christopher McDougall, which is about Mexico’s Copper Canyon and the Tarahumara Indians who live inside the canyon. The culture and history behind running is inspiring, adventurous, and easy-to-read. I highly recommend the book to anyone who has ever suffered from an injury, or to anyone who has been told that their injury will never heal. Here’s a TED talk from Christopher McDougall to give you a taste of the book:

 

 

I have had innumerable foot doctors tell me that my flat feet is a part of who I am and that my slightly knocked-knees are incurable. After reading this book, I decided to see if I could have positive results from foot and knee exercises. In the past few months, I have greatly improved my foot arch and knee strength thanks to exercise and extended time being barefoot. No joke. Take that doctors. Here’s to motivation and empowerment… cheers!

 

Chelsea

Leave a Reply

