Autocuidado en México

Self-care is a huge theme of discussion and practice in AmeriCorps, where I served a local non-profit in Seattle called Girls on the Run for two years. Every Friday was dedicated towards personal growth and development or team-building meetings. Self-care was highly encouraged to avoid burn-out and stress; once I learned how to embrace it, I couldn’t live without it. I began to live and breathe self-care; I encouraged others to do the same.

 

Now let me back-up real quick and catch those up to speed who have yet to relish in self-care. According to Wikipedia… Self care is personal health maintenance. It is any activity of an individual, family or community, with the intention of improving or restoring health, or treating or preventing disease. Basically, it’s loving yourself and taking care of who you actually are. Everyone has their own way of practicing self-care and covers broad topics from nutrition, exercise, relationships, alone time, ect.

 

Since I was such a fan in Seattle, you would think that upon moving to Mexico that I would not only continue my self-care practice but increase it, no?! Actually, no. I suck at it. New social norms and access to my old self-care practices are now totally out the window. In a random Google search, I found Kacie’s blog cleverly named “Kacie’s Backpack”; Kacie, originally from Seattle, is a fellow Peace Corps Volunteer in Nicaragua who blogs about her honest adventures in Peace Corps. The article that reminded me of the importance of self-care is titled, “Self-Care, People. Do It.” Exactly the kick in the pants that I needed. Thanks for the encouragement, Kacie!

 

I love lists, so I made a list of self-care techniques that I can actually practice here in Mexico…

self-care

What do you do to preserve you? What are your self-care techniques? Be good to you today and everyday!

Mucho amor,

CB

4 thoughts on “Autocuidado en México

  1. Pingback: Lessons Learned: March Edition | Go Team Jander!

  2. Pingback: Lessons Learned: May Edition | Go Team Jander!

Leave a Reply

